TedrahSmothers’s Substack
recorded poems
The Summer Day
0:00
-2:53

The Summer Day

Hello Everyone,

On my walk the other evening, I came across the first 4 O’clock blooms of the summer. I was elated to see them, again. They are such cheery, simple reminders of nature’s wisdom.

These flowers invoke so many memories of a very specific time in my life, and a very specific woman, whose name was Gladys. She was our neighbor, while we lived in our little duplex at 2263 Nelson, in Cooper Young. This was many years ago , before Cooper Young had its revival. At the time we lived there, Meristem bookstore had opened, way before its time. A bookstore, opened by Audrey May, “for women and their friends”. She was, of course, ahead of her time. Lavender Earth was a little plant nursery I loved to visit. I tried my hand at gardening, inspired by Gladys. But, it turns out, I wasn’t much of a gardener, although I like to think I am. There is still hope.

Kirk and I on our front stoop at 2263 Nelson, with Nelson our dog, and Samantha, our cat. circa,1987

My husband and I were just embarking on our journey together as householders. It was such a fun time. Gladys lived in the duplex next door and she was a master gardener. She tended her garden daily with such love and care, and devotion. At the time she was in her late eighties, lived alone, she didn’t have children, and she was never married. She was a bride to the earth and her flowers.

It was in her garden that I saw, for the first time, the 4 O’cloccks. I didn’t grow up in the south, so I had never seen these magical flowers before. I still love their simplicity and complexity. They open late in the day and close up at night. I was fascinated by that. They are a reminder of the great intelligence that exists all around us, and within us.

Gladys left us with the seeds of the 4 O’clocks, before she left the earth. I still have them. I don’t know why I’ve never planted them. I’m certain they are still around, somewhere, just like she is. I’m grateful to have crossed paths with dear sweet Gladys, and to have been graced by her presence. May her memory be a blessing.

May you all feel the grace of another’s nurturing care.

May you realize the intelligence of nature is also yours

May you know the beauty of The summer Day

Now I must be off to teach a class at Evergreen Yoga Center

I’ll see you on the mat.

Lots of Love,

Tedrah

0 Comments
TedrahSmothers’s Substack
recorded poems
poems read out loud by me